Toll-Free: 1 (800) 279-7432 | Local: 1 (719) 547-2160

District 3: Gardner, Trinidad East & Vicinity

Represented by Director Ray Garcia

21168 HWY 69
Gardner, CO 81040
(719) 746-2362

Ray Garcia was first elected to the San Isabel Electric Association, Inc. Board of Directors in 1983. He was born and raised in the Gardner community, where he still resides. After graduating from Walsenburg High School, Mr. Garcia attended the University of Colorado, School of Engineering in Boulder. He then joined the United States Air Force, serving four years.

Mr. Garcia is a farmer and rancher in the Gardner area and is a master plumber, pipe fitter and welder.

Mr. Garcia is a County Commissioner of Huerfano County representing District 1 and is a retired water commissioner who served the upper Huerfano River. Mr. Garcia is former president of the Huerfano County RE-1 School District Board, former president of the Sacred Heart Parish Council and is formerly the president of the Gardner Chuck Wagon Supper Association.During his term on the San Isabel Electric Board, Mr. Garcia completed his Director Certification and Board Leadership Certification from the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association (NRECA). Mr. Garcia represented Colorado electric co-ops on the NRECA Board and served as chairman of the Administrative Committee for fourteen years. He has served on the San Isabel Electric Member Relations and Finance Committees and has held the offices of President, Vice President, Treasurer, and Secretary.  Mr. Garcia has served as San Isabel Electric’s representative on the Colorado Rural Electric Association (CREA) Board of Directors and served in each CREA Executive Committee officer position, including President. He continues to serve on the Colorado Electric Education Institute Board and is former President of the organization. Additionally, Mr. Garcia formerly served on the Tri-State Generation & Transmission Board of Directors as San Isabel Electric’s representative and is the former chair of Tri-State’s External Affairs Committee.